Daily Prompt: Success! | South by SouthWest

Tell us about a time where everything you’d hoped would happen actually did.

DSC_0650

Last year, me and the Redefined team decided we would all head out to our first major festival in Austin, TX at South by Soutwest which took place March of this year. The months leading up to it were incredibly turbulent: Money issues for multiple people, some being relocated at the last minute, vehicle decisions, etc. At one point, two weeks before the trip, all but three people dropped out. It seemed the stresses of home would hinder a truly unique experience.

I’d never been to Texas, for one, but this also would be one of the first times we’d have the majority of the team together for an extended time period. Money was the biggest issue on my side of things, but I already had the time off approved. One day, I snapped. I hated having such an opportunity right in front of me and feeling like I wasn’t doing everything in my power to make it happen.

Long story short, the decision to go was made the week before the trip and we got everyone back on board. Things were tight leading up, but it turned into one of the best trips I’ve ever taken with a very awesome group of people. Even though there were trails leading up to it, I’m glad this event didn’t turn into another “what if”.

Leave a Reply

