Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | The Following

Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-WordPress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging.

If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?

Following

 

I’m fairly new to blogging regularly and I’m wondering: Whats the best approach to gathering an engaging following for the site? I’m not planning to monetize the site, so the amount of people is less important. I’m more-so concerned with a dedicated group that consistently visits and interacts.

20 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | The Following

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | On My Front Porch

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway | writinglikeastoner

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Seeking Advice | My Daily Prompt Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Key Takeaway « Mama Bear Musings

  5. Pingback: My Personal Blogging Post-Mortem | Eyes Through The Glass - A Blog About Asperger's

  6. I struggle with this too. I have found that by sharing my blog through the share option in WordPress. I send it to my Facebook, Twitter, & Tumblr. (I have 4 blogs & almost all of them share to at least one other site if not more.) Plus I try to browse for people’s blogs based on topics that interest me. I like & comment on some & then come back & see what else they’ve got going on and maybe follow them. Participating in the Daily Prompt helps. I only have 71 followers on WP but it looks like I have more because of my share options. (the grand total is over 300 if you count everything/one)

    Good luck.

  7. The best approach, as I have seen it, besides writing good posts on interesting topics is to be consistent and BE PATIENT… Very few blogs get from 0 to 100 in a few months… appreciate those that find their way to you… Take advantage of the daily prompts as often as you can there you’ll find a community gathering of sorts where everyone will be on the same subject… 🙂 All the luck, Alexandra

  8. I am new here too and I am in the same boat. I do find that I get more interactions with different topics. I do have certain people that I check out often and they do the same for me. Hope that helps!

  9. I believe in writing on what interests me. In this way I often have topics to write on – and I “meet” up with people who have similar interests.

  10. Pingback: Best Blogging Advice Money Can’t Buy | The Jittery Goat

  11. I notice that a lot of bloggers tweet and have facebook. That might be the way to go about it. I don’t have a lot of followers, but I do have regular visitors, people who I visit because I like what theyhave to say. many of them visit me in their turn and I hope it’s because they like what I have to say. It’s more than gathering a following and sitting pretty after that. Getting and keeping a following is an ongoing process.

Leave a Reply

