Daily Prompt: Your Time To Shine | The Early Rise of the Night Owl

Saturday’s Daily Prompt was:

Early bird, or night owl?

Shine2

My sleep schedule, when in a creative state at least, is completely nuts. The most productive I’ve been is when I participated in NaNoWriMo aka National Novel Writer’s Month. During this month, writers were tasked with creating a 50k word novel in 30 days. It was here that I learned where I’m best placed to work and at what times. My social life took the biggest loss as I would come home from work at 5, eat dinner, and be in bed by 7. I’d then wake up at 3a.m. and write my heart out.

There were no distractions to be had around this time (save for twitter), so I’d consistently add 3,000+ to my word count when good ideas came up . I learned I could craft some pretty solid stuff when I just let my mind loose.

When are you most productive?

Leave a Reply

