Daily Prompt: Second Time Around | What The Writer Reads

Today’s Daily Prompt:

Tell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

Second2

Well, I have three books that I can and do read obsessively. First up is The Secret by Rhonda Byrne. I would frequent Books-A-Million and B&N quite often and, for some strange reason, I always noticed this book. I wouldn’t pick it up, but I was always aware of its presence. Eventually I took a look at it, but the summary was extremely cryptic. So I opened it up and the rest is history.

The Secret has had one of the most positive affects on my daily mood and thought process. I can not even imagine what my mindset would consist of without it, but I’m quite sure I wouldn’t be the realistic optimist most of you know today. I won’t tell you what the big Secret is, you must experience it on your own.

Second

The second book was suggested by my father, adamantly. I think I was around 15 or so when he first asked if I had read it and it was in my possession on my next birthday. I gained an early understanding of true wealth and net worth early, giving me an appreciation for frugality I didn’t learn through grade school. I’m immensely appreciative of this now and, though I struggle to implement some of the things taught, I have the tools to be successful. This is another book that has affected my thinking greatly and is a great read for anyone.

Second3

Finally, we have my favorite work of fiction. Ender’s Game, by the brilliant Orson Scott Card, is a sci-fi coming-of-age tale about Ender, essentially a child genius. It was required reading by one of my favorite teachers and was one of the first to truly make me think outside the box. It also inspired me to create my own worlds and characters.

Near the end of this year, a film adaptation will arrive in theaters. I’m terrified of it. This book shaped my interests to this date and there are many elements that will be difficult to recreate visually. Between now and November, I’m going to have to balance my expectations (I also will be reviewing this for TheRedefined.com 0_O).

So, what book(s) can you return to as if engaging in a new experience all over again? Share in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Second Time Around | What The Writer Reads

Leave a Reply

