“Fear The Remake” by Charles E. Singletary, Sr.

“Fear The Remake”

As a very young man, I was told in elementary school that there are no limits to the imagination.  Teachers use to tell us that the more you read, the more expansive you’re your mind, giving you the ability to tap into this incredible limitless imagination universe.

I use to imagine that there were galaxies upon galaxies of stories not unlike stars in the skies making a limitless universe of stories.  When an author wanted to write a book, he had only to look up and grab a story from this endless supply.  Science Fiction, Biographies, Novels, Cook Books, Drama’s and whatever story you wanted to tell was there for the picking, like choosing an orange from an orange grove.

Now it appears that my teachers were wrong, mistaken, or just plain lying.  The grove has been plucked dry, the skies are darken from no stars, there are no more stories to tell, the fuel gauge of the imagination is reading bone dry with no refueling station in existence.

I feel this way because movie makers tell me in the new (bad choice of words) movies that have come out.  No one has an original idea anymore.  Remake after remake or the new phrase, reboot.  I’m not even including sequels, which I am getting sick and tired of, I’m referring to these non-imaginative, looking for the quick easy buck, producers and directors that wouldn’t know an original idea if Jaws came out of the ocean and, no, if an Italian Mafia family in New York gave them an offer, no, if an alien space craft named Prometheus landed in their backyard, no, now I can’t even come up with something original.  It’s not generational either, young, old or in between, it doesn’t matter.  No one is coming up with new ideas.  This is a sad situation and it’s the movie goers that suffer the most.  We pay more for a lesser product.  Yes, the technology has advanced and that maybe part of the problem.  Maybe movie makers feel the more advanced the FX, the less important the story line.  I say regardless the technology; the most important thing about a story is, wait for it, THE STORY!

Please show us that the universe of ideas is not empty.  We’ve seen Warriors, Flash Gordon, Total Recall and so much more.  Lead us to a new light, I know it’s out there; I know you can find it.  If you make it, we will come see it (sorry, I guess I need a new movie to inspire me too).

Leave a Reply

